CIPMC inaugurates Farmers’ Field School at Diglipur

Port Blair, July 10: Central Integrated Pest Management Centre (CIPMC), Port Blair inaugurated Integrated Pest Management (IPM) Training cum Demonstration Programme under Farmers’ Field School for Kharif 2019-20 rice crop at Nabagram Gram Panchayat Hall & Milangram Community Hall of Diglipur, North and Middle Andaman recently  in order to create awareness about the IPM practices & ill effects of Pesticides.

Addressing the inaugural function Shri G.S. Giri, Plant Protection Officer (PP), CIPMC, Port Blair discussed brief history of Green Revolution in India and explained how fertilizer & pesticides became an integral part of Indian farming system. He urged the farmers present on the occasion to adopt IPM technology in their respective crop fields. Shri Giri also discussed about FFS and its role in framing of Rice.

Shri V.K. Gupta, Assistant Plant Protection Officer discussed the need of Integrated Pest Management practices to overcome the pesticide poisoning problem and gradual shifting to Organic practice. He also discussed various components of IPM i.e. cultural, mechanical, biological & need based chemical application. He urged the farmers to adopt IPM technology and go for need based use of chemical pesticides.

Sh. Navashakti, Agriculture Officer, State Agriculture Department, Digalipur was present as Chief Guest and she appreciated CIPMC, Port Blair for conducting such eco-friendly programme in the area and discussed the importance of this programme in adopting organic farming.  She also discussed the new subsidy scheme under the program.

Shri Niranjan Baroi, Gram Pradhan, Nabgram, Sh. Deepak Sarkar, PRI, Milangram was present as Guest of Honour. They thanked CIPMC, Port Blair for conducting such eco-friendly programme in the area and urged the farmers to take full advantage of this programme.

Shri Md Nawas, AFA, Nabagram, & Sajitha Bano, AFA, Milangram State Agriculture Department, Diglipur and many farmers from the region were also present during the programme.  Shri V.K. Gupta, APPO proposed the vote of thanks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.