Mus –“A” Team Lifts Prestigious Dr. B. Srikanth Memorial Cricket Cup

Nicobar, May 27: On 26th May 2019, the final match of Dr. B. Srikanth memorial T-20 Cricket Tournament Season-IV was held at Car Nicobar between Mus- ‘A’ and A&N Police. Due to rains, match was truncated to 16 overs each side. Batting first, Mus ‘A’ team put up a score of 143 run in scheduled 16 overs. However A&N Police was able to score only 101 runs at the loss of 8 wickets, owing to disciplined bowling and fielding by Mus ‘A’ team and hence lost the match by 42 runs.

Mr. Karan from Mus team was declared as “Man of the Match” for the final Match, Mr. Jaffer of A&N Police team as “Man of the Tournament ”, Mr. David of Mus team as “Best batsman” of the tournament, and Mr. Vishal of Mus team as “Best bowler” of the tournament.

Nicobar District Police has been organizing this tournament annually since 2016 in the memory of Former Superintendent of Police, Nicobar District Late Dr. B. Srikanth, IPS. This tournament was inaugurated on 20th April, 2019 and since then total 51 T-20 matches were played including Final Match. Total 24 teams from Nicobar district participated in the one month long tournament.

Chief Guest Dr. Monica Pryadarshini, IAS, Deputy Commissioner, Nicobar District distributed the prizes to both the winner and the runner up teams and various players for their performances in the presence of Shri Rajeev Kumar, IPS, Superintendent of Police, Grp Capatin, Mr. K. Tyagi, IAF Car Nicobar, Mr. Kishore Laksman AC Car Nicobar, Mr. Nathaniel, DEO, Car Nicobar, Mr. Jagdev Singh Yadav, Dy. SP Car Nicobar.

Both DC Car Nicobar Dr. Monica Priyadarshini and SP Car Nicobar Mr. Rajeev Kumar emphasized the importance of sports and immense sports talent present in Nicobar district and to tap the same through these type of tournaments. SP Nicobar also reiterated to organize many such tournaments in other sports also in the future under the “YUVA” initiative of A&N Police so as to protectively engage the youth of Nicobar.

Dy. SP Car Nicobar, Mr. Jagdev Singh Yadav concluded the tournament with the vote of thanks, a release received from PAC, PHQ, A & N Police said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.