Scrutiny of Forms by RO in Presence of General Observer at JNRM

Port Blair, Apr 15: The Scrutiny of Form 17C (Accounts of Votes), 17A (Register of Voters), 14A (Blind and Infirm Voters) and Presiding Officer’s Diary was taken up today at JNRM Auditorium in the presence of Candidates/Election Agents by Mr. Udit Prakash Rai, IAS, Returning Officer, Andaman and Nicobar Parliamentary Constituency in the presence of Mr. Partha Sarthi Sen Sharma, IAS, General Observer, Elections-2019.

As per the guidelines of Election Commission of India scrutiny of Presiding officers diaries, verification of register of voters in Form 17A and other related documents which include but not restricted to Micro Observers reports, Form 14A,  video-graphy recordings, visitor sheets, reports of  zonal magistrate’s or sector officer’s, reports of Presiding Officer, still photography etc., shall be done by Observers and Returning officers in the presence of contesting candidates or their election agents for any of the following categories of the polling stations:-

  1. In all polling stations where any complaint of poll rigging. Malpractices etc., was received by Observer, DEO or RO during the poll process.
  2. In all polling stations, where any significant event (EVM related or otherwise) was reported to the Observer, DEO or RO during poll process.

iii. In polling stations, where poll took place in the absence of any polling agent or in the presence of the agent of only one candidate.

  1. In polling stations, where the number of electors who cast their votes using documents other than EPIC issued by the Commission (i.e., alternative documents) exceeded 25% of the total votes cast in that polling station.
  2. In polling stations, where more than 10% of such electors who had been identified as ASD turned up to and voted.
  3. In polling stations, where there are at least 5 (five) tendered votes/challenged, reported.

The entire process of the scrutiny was video-graphed and it was found that no discrepancies have been found for the Parliamentary Constituency of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.