WIPRO – EARTHIAN 2018 Sustainability Education Programme In Schools: Regional Recognition Event

Port Blair, Jan 20: C.P.R. Environmental Education Centre, Chennai in collaboration with WIPRO – Earthian has taken up a Sustainability Education Programme in South India. The programme involves innovative project submissions on sustainability of water and biodiversity by groups of students guided by a teacher. CPREEC with its network in Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Oidhsa, Pondicherry, Goa and Andaman & Nicobar Islands oriented teachers from nine states’ schools through workshops, student interactions, school visits, value addition events and creative expressions.
Competent regional evaluation committees in nine states and union territories short listed 72 project submissions and it was forwarded to Wipro Earthian National Jury. The Wipro Earthian National Jury had selected best project submissions as National Winners 2018 from project submissions received from all over India. The National level winners will receive one lakh cash prize and a unique opportunity to participate in three years continuous engagement programme. This year, six schools from the CPREEC network schools in the states of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Karnataka, Kerala and Goa have got awarded national level prizes.
C.P.R.Environmental Education Centre, Chennai, in association with the WIPRO Earthian is also awarding best project submissions at the regional/state level and confer Regional Winners-2018 in Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Odisha, Pondicherry, Goa and Andaman & Nicobar Islands through Regional Recognition Events. All awarded teachers and students will be given a Regional Winner Certificate and the memento for the school.
The Regional Recognition Event was held on 18.01.2019 at conference hall of Govt. Model Sr. Sec. School, Port Blair. Dr. A. Kundu, Director, Central Island Agriculture Research Institute, Port Blair was the Chief Guest and gave away the regional winner certificates and mementos for the regional winners. Mr. Sarachandran, Dy. Director of Education science was Guest of Honour on the occasion. Mr. A. Gopal, Project Officer, CPREEC, Port Blair proposed the vote of thanks.
60 projects were received from different schools of Andaman and Nicobar Islands through the sustainability education programme in the major thematic area of Biodiversity and water. The Project evaluation committee recommended 12 projects for national level. The shortlisted projects received from the schools of Sagritara School Prem Nagar, Navy Children School Minnie Bay, Vivekananda Kendra Zilla Parishad Vidyalaya Port Mout, Govt. Senior Secondary School Kadamtala, Nirmala Senior Secondary School Prem Nagar, Govt. Senior Secondary School Mangultan, Govt. Senior Secondary School, Kalighat and Govt. Model Senior Secondary School, Sita Nagar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *