Team ANC Embarks on Historic Swimming Expedition (Swimming to
21 Islands Named After PVC Awardees) As Part of Expedition Paramvir

Port Blair, May 03: The Indian Armed Forces, known for their tradition of fostering adventure,
have embarked on a historic swimming expedition in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands. This daring endeavour, which involves swimming to all 21 islands named after Param Vir Chakra (PVC) awardees, was initiated to pay tribute to the bravehearts who have made
supreme sacrifices for the nation.

            The event was flagged off by Air Marshal Saju Balakrishnan, AVSM, VM, Commander-in-Chief, Andaman and Nicobar Command (CINCAN), on 22 Mar 24 commemorating World Water Day.  A total of 58 swimmers from the Andaman and Nicobar Command (ANC) participated in the inaugural swim from Marina Jetty to Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Dweep.

            The first phase of the swim, undertaken in the Middle Andaman region, commenced in the month of April. Swim to eleven islands has been successfully carried out so far. These are, Ekka Dweep, Khetarpal Dweep, Pandey Dweep, Hoshiar Dweep, Bana Dweep, Karam Singh Dweep, Shaitan Singh Dweep, Yogendra Dweep, Jadunath Dweep, Sekhon Dweep and Piru Dweep.

            This expedition stands as a testament to the indomitable spirit of the Indian Armed Forces. It is a unique tribute to the Param Vir Chakra awardees and our heroes, showcasing their valour and sacrifice.
            The swimming expedition, spanning from 22 March 2024 to 15 August 2024,
has been meticulously planned considering adverse weather conditions and logistical arrangements. It marks a historic milestone in honouring the bravery of our armed forces personnel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.